How are the submissions reviewed?

All submissions are reviewed independently by an expert panel. To avoid conflict of interest, this multi-disciplinary panel does not review any entries submitted from their own centres. The expert panel allocates points as outlined in the entry form, depending on the completeness and robustness of the information provided. They came together in September 2018 to make final decisions on shortlisted entrants.

Who are the Ophthalmology Honours expert panel?

Although the programme is funded and facilitated by Bayer, entries are independently reviewed by experts in ophthalmology care. This includes the steering committee that guide the programme, and additional representatives to ensure a multi-disciplinary expert panel. The decision-making process is wholly independent of Bayer.

The 2018/19 expert panel includes:

Steering Committee

Clare Bailey Clare Bailey Consultant in Ophthalmology, Bristol Eye Hospital

Clare has been a Consultant Ophthalmologist at Bristol Eye Hospital since 2001, with a specialist interest in medical retinal disorders. She is Clinical Director of the Retinal Treatment and Research Unit at Bristol Eye Hospital, and has been a principal investigator on numerous trials concerning age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy and retinal vascular disorders.

Helen Devonport Helen Devonport Consultant in Ophthalmology, Bradford Royal Infirmary

Helen is a Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon, specialising in medical retina and uveitis at Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. She is the lead for the Macular Service and the Uveitis Service in Bradford and is involved in clinical research in medical retina and uveitis.

Stevie Johnson Stevie Johnson Clinical Lead, RNIB Eye Clinic Support Service

Stevie is Clinical Lead at RNIB, working to improve the quality and impact of service for people affected by sight loss. She and her team design effective, evidence based practice, offer professional development programmes and practical support for regional or country service delivery teams and UK-wide services.

Jenny Nosek Jenny Nosek Ophthalmic Advanced Nurse Specialist, Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust

Since completing her master’s degree at Birmingham University in 1995, Jenny has continued to work in ophthalmology both commercially and in the NHS, specialising in the care of patients suffering with macular pathology. She has published several papers relating to evidence based nursing practice in ophthalmology.

Fiona Sanfo Fiona Sandford Chief Executive Officer, Visionary

Visionary is the membership organisation for sight loss charities throughout the UK. Visionary believes that we can be stronger by working together. Prior to joining Visionary, Fiona was the CEO of Visibility - a sight loss charity in the west of Scotland. Fiona is a trustee of the Corra Foundation and the Blindcraft Fund.

Non-steering committee experts

Usha Chakravarthy Usha Chakravarthy Professor of Ophthalmology, Queen’s University Belfast

Usha has a varied portfolio of research interests and is recognised internationally for her work on age-related macular degeneration and diabetic retinopathy. She has in excess of 300 publications and has served on the editorial board of several national and international journals. In 2016 she was awarded a CBE for services to ophthalmology in the UK and was also the recipient of the Macular Society’s Alan Alderman award.

Roshini Sanders Roshini Sanders Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Edinburgh and Consultant in Ophthalmology, Queen Margaret Hospital, Dunfermline

Roshini is a regional trainer for glaucoma in South-East Scotland, secretary of the Scottish Glaucoma Club, chief organiser of the Scottish Glaucoma Symposium and co-founder of the glaucoma surgery wet lab at the Royal College of Surgeons, Edinburgh. She is currently National Clinical Lead for the Scottish Eyecare Integration Project, Chair of SIGN guidelines for glaucoma and Ophthalmology Advisor to NHS Scotland.

Abigail Iron Abigail Iron MR co-ordinator, West Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust

Abigail has over 20 years’ experience as an orthoptist and took on the role of MR co-ordinator in 2007 at West Suffolk Hospital. In addition to co-ordinating the busy medical retina service she participates in audit and research as well as maintaining her orthoptic duties and diagnostic imaging role.